Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Compucarve and Sears

Default Compucarve and Sears

I have been following this forum for some time now. I'm convinced that this little three axis cnc would be a welcome addition to my shop.

It appears to me that the problems are being resolved and the positive feedback is now carrying some weight.

I went to Sears to purchase a unit and, during the initial conversation, some questions came up.

1. There is no extended warranty
    2. They, Sears, do the repairs
    3. And the only reported problems have come from those who try to use the router in a "Commercial Enviroment"

So I regrouped and just want to hear from you guys that it ain't so.

I apologize if this rehashes questions answered earlier, I just want some definitive feedback so I can make a purchaising decision.

I'm an experienced Woodworker, Computer Technicin with over 20 years experience in Machine Tool and CNC.

I thank you in advance for your feedback.

Fred

Quote Originally Posted by fstrumpf View Post
    2. They, Sears, do the repairs
    3. And the only reported problems have come from those who try to use the router in a "Commercial Enviroment"

Fred
    Fred,

Welcome to the group. Here's the answers to your questions to the best of my knowledge:

1. There are mixed reports on this but I believe the consensus is that it is true.

2. As far as I know this is false. CarveWright does the repairs if needed. Sears will eventually do them but they are not trained at this time.

3. False. Many "problems" that have been reported are due to user error. Some that have been mentioned on this forum are actual defects in parts of the machine that required repair and some others have been remedied by firmware updates. Commercial or not doesn't seem to be relevant to who has the problem.
    Charles M