Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dead machine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    736

    Default Dead machine

    They say some days you are the fly and some the windshield. Today is my fly day. 2 hours into a 5 hour carve I'm in the next room and suddenly hear nothing. Carver has stopped and when I check it is dead, nothing on the LCD, totally frozen in time. Not sure what made me the maddest, possible machine problem or the ruined 12" by 48" piece of sycamore . First thought was the power supply might have died. Good news was I bought a new one last year for a spare.
    The fly set in, opened the box for the first time and found it was different from mine. Guess when I ordered it I missed there was a difference between machine versions. Now I've got a useless power supply, have two B machines. Will call and hope I can make some type of 'trade'.
    Anyway, checked and did find I have both the 5v and 24v voltages at the inputs to the controller with everything connected. With no LCD display which comes off the controller am guessing it is bad.
    Appreciate any feedback/info from the experienced members.
    Thx, Rick H

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The Great Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    5,296

    Default

    You just need the new cables. We currently don't have a line item for that, so as soon as accounting can set it up, we can take an order for that. Call us tomorrow.
    CarveWright CX Packaged System - starting at $2000
    CarversClub 1 Year Subscription - $150.00/year
    Adv. Support w/out CC membership - $25.00/issue
    CarveWright Community Forum - PRICELESS!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NE PA USA
    Posts
    9,959

    Default

    Had a Machine do that to me one hot August Day.... Turned out to be the Controller. The previous owner did not have dust collection and just blew it around... Well, it got in the Computer and like a blanket cause some chips to overheat. I had a new controller from eBay and was back up and running in 10 min.

    The New Power Supply you got is the standard replacement. You will need a wire harness from LHR. But it is likely the Controller.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC02623_WEB.jpg  
    Favorite Saying.... "It's ALL About the Brass Roller"..... And "Use MASKING TAPE" for board skipping in the X or breaking bits.

    Follow ME on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Accoun...50019051727074

    www.PoconoDigitalWoodshop.com

    www.AccountabilityTag.com


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    736

    Default

    Lynnfrwd; Will call, at least I didn't mess up the order and now I will have what I need to use the power supply if needed.

    Al; Did open it up, was surprised at how clean it was, just a few areas with a light touch of dust. Guess the DC has been doing its job. Controller has had a problem for 4 or 5 yrs, hrs meter is always 000, can't shut off the 'cut to length' prompt but kept running and I tracked hrs on paper.

    Thx for the feedback, Rick H

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    736

    Default

    Hopefully on the way. Called and placed my order, LHR was able to ship me the necessary cables to make my power supply usable if and when I need one. Nice to learn I don't have a worthless part. Parts on the way the same day.
    Rick H

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NE PA USA
    Posts
    9,959

    Default

    Let us know if it fixes it....

    AL
    Favorite Saying.... "It's ALL About the Brass Roller"..... And "Use MASKING TAPE" for board skipping in the X or breaking bits.

    Follow ME on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Accoun...50019051727074

    www.PoconoDigitalWoodshop.com

    www.AccountabilityTag.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •