Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Adventures in guitar making

Default Adventures in guitar making

I'm a newb. Turned my CW on for the first time 2 months ago. I'd be lying if I said it wasn't a rocky road, but things are coming together for me now.
    One of the main reasons I wanted a CNC machine was for my hobby - building guitars. I purchased the CW because of the small foot-print it required, and the ability to do longer projects. I also do a lot of cabinet work and wanted to be able add decorative touches to it. I had pretty given up and resigned myself to thinking I bought the wrong machine for what I wanted. I've made a lot of progress since then, and I'm very happy with the CW now. Me & CW are going to be friends after all. Hope someone besides me finds this thread interesting, I plan to keep adding to it as I go.

Anyone with a template and a router can make a guitar body. As long as the top of that body is flat. If you want a profile, that's a problem. This style of guitar is called a "Les Paul" or LP for short and it features a carved top. Normally it is built in two pieces, then glued together. The base is a wood like mahogany, the carved top is often figured maple.
    Here's my base carving. Note the cheater rails I attached to the side of the wood to make it longer and wider.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CW LP Body1.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	245.0 KB 
ID:	88103
    I didn't carve all the way through the 1-3/4" piece of material. I cut it out on the bandsaw and finished it with a router.

Name:	CW LP Body2.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	254.1 KB 
ID:	88104
    And then the carved top......the reason I'm here. This is the MDF version.

Name:	CW LP Top MDF.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	110.5 KB 
ID:	88105
    Success is a wonderful thing.

They look great and glad you two are getting along now. There are several people who do use the CarveWright to make guitars and violins. Have seen the one in the CarveWright adds/intro on their web site?