Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pattern calls for a "TRUE" .5" board.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Marengo, Northern Illinois
    Posts
    18

    Default Pattern calls for a "TRUE" .5" board.

    Greetings all, need an assist please. I purchased a Christmas ornaments (beautiful for my needs) pattern from the Depot and it indicates it needs a true .5" thick board in the instructions.

    https://store.carvewright.com/produc...06&cat=&page=1

    1. Is there a way to adjust the pattern to adapt to the "nominal" thickness wood that is available
    or
    2. Where might I find True measured lumber?

    Thanks in advance.

    Kit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    7,719

    Default

    I did not try to download (try feature) but just looking at it do now see why you could not use a 3/4" thick board. If you do review/double check all cut out settings.

    The big box stores do sell 1/2" thick boards. Usually found at the end of the isle.
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot
    DC-INSERT It Just Sucks!

    Proven to out perform all others!
    Buy CarveWright
    Colorado FaceBook Users Group


    All patterns and projects that I share on the CarveWright forum are for your personal carving purpose. They are not to be shared, sold or posted on any other web site without permission from RingNeckBlues Designs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    802

    Default

    In Designer open the project click on "Edit" "board Settings" Change board thickness to match your board.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Marengo, Northern Illinois
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thank you. I have a poplar board and it is slightly less than the .5", which is what concerned me. I do not want to hurt the resulting design with a board that is too thin.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    802

    Default

    If your board is less than .5 then you will have to put it on a carrier board. The machine must have a board that is a minimum of .5 in thickness. Leave the Mpc setting at .5. in designer. The machine will ask you if you are using a carrier board. during the measuring process.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Marengo, Northern Illinois
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thank you, do I indicate yes for the carrier board then?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    802

    Default

    say "yes '

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •