Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Z Axis Stall 06-0313

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    659

    Default Z Axis Stall 06-0313

    Started a project and the moment I selected the project the Z Axis stall appeared on the screen. The truck was in the center of the machine never moved, I did not hear any sound indicating a 'homing' attempt.
    I first verified that I could easily move the truck in any direction without resistance. From responses previous posts I pulled of the cover on rear of the Z motor and verified everything was clean. Again from prior postings I replaced the FFC cable. Next I replaced the Z motor termination board, got the same error after all.
    When I do a 0-7 and go to the sensor check for the Y & Z both readings changes when I move the truck .
    The moment I select a project I get the stall message without hearing or seeing any attempt of movement. This is a back up machine with 30 hours on a new Controller.
    Suggestions on the next step?
    Thx, Rick H

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Posts
    8,164

    Default

    Do you notice the difference in truck resistance to movement when the power is on Vs off. The z motor not getting power will cause an immediate stall.

  3. #3

    Default

    Did you try flashing the card and trying a different pattern

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bergerud View Post
    Do you notice the difference in truck resistance to movement when the power is on Vs off. The z motor not getting power will cause an immediate stall.
    No difference in resistance, think you have hit it . Didn't think about that test, in my mind seeing the position numbers change during the check was enough. Didn't realise the processor would be able to see the encoder without power. Learn something new everyday(if I pay attention) Also no difference when I move the Y. Guess I need a power supply, one of the things I don't have a spare off.
    Thx a million, Rick H.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike1 View Post
    Did you try flashing the card and trying a different pattern
    I did try a different card, forgot to mention that earlier.
    Thx for the reply, Rick H

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Replaced the ribbon cable from the controller up to the terminal board. First and hope the last time, quite a pain in the XXX. Anyway, stall error message gone. Haven't had time to do a carve to see what else I may have messed up with all the process but happy the stall is gone.
    Thx for all the help, Rick H

  7. #7

    Default

    Good luck Rick, we feel your pain..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Kaukauna, Wisconsin
    Posts
    466

    Default

    I saw a power supply for sale on ebay https://www.ebay.com/itm/163615668390?ul_noapp=true

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NE PA USA
    Posts
    9,891

    Default

    My suggestion was going to be to swap the controllers thinking it was a Servo Driver.... Glad you made progress.
    Favorite Saying.... "It's ALL About the Brass Roller"..... And "Use MASKING TAPE" for board skipping in the X or breaking bits.

    Follow ME on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Accoun...50019051727074

    www.PoconoDigitalWoodshop.com

    www.AccountabilityTag.com


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Just an FYI update, got time to try a carve and a 1 1/2 hr one ran fine.
    Rick H

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •