Thread: Help with Badge Pattern

Default Help with Badge Pattern

I am new to 3D Modeling. I have had my carvewright for a couple of years and have only dabbled with it. I have been a graphic artist since the early 1990s. I am also a full time law enforcement officer. I have drawn my department's badge with my graphics software. I have the badge in a vector format and can convert the file using the AIConvert utility. I need help turning this badge into a carving that I can use on plaques and other projects. I am looking for someone that can convert this badge into a pattern. I am having a very difficult time transitioning from the flat world of sign graphics into the 3D world. I have attach a .jpg image of the file. Any help would be greatly appreciated.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sheriffs Badge Black_White For Carving.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	558.9 KB 
ID:	86584

Do you have the DXF importer? If so you can carve this as vectors.

What version of designer are you using?
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot
    DC-INSERT It Just Sucks!

Proven to out perform all others!
    Buy CarveWright
    Colorado FaceBook Users Group

All patterns and projects that I share on the CarveWright forum are for your personal carving purpose. They are not to be shared, sold or posted on any other web site without permission from RingNeckBlues Designs.

I'm using version 2.007. I do not have the DXF importer. The AIConvert utility that I use converts Adobe Illustrator files into .mpc files. I can bring the badge into designer, but I am having a rough time figuring out carve regions and the proper depth for all of the elements of the badge.

Here it is in DXF format. I do not know what other add ons you have so I did not use the puffing tool to give it any shape. If just using the carve region tool it takes a lot of practice and trial and error to make it work as a pattern.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot