Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: lines in my carving

Default lines in my carving

I am new with the carvewright. I bought it to reproduce my carvings for resale. However, here is what I have been doing:
    the wood is maple, ran on normal setting, choose 1/32 bit. I am left with a rough carving with lines instead of smooth finish. I have looked at others work and can not get the same results. I need some help!!! if anyone lives near Columbus Georgia, perhaps we could get together for assistance...

Quote Originally Posted by Twocarvers View Post
    I am new with the carvewright. I bought it to reproduce my carvings for resale. However, here is what I have been doing:
    the wood is maple, ran on normal setting, choose 1/32 bit. I am left with a rough carving with lines instead of smooth finish. I have looked at others work and can not get the same results. I need some help!!! if anyone lives near Columbus Georgia, perhaps we could get together for assistance...
    You have to go into the software and tell it you are using the 1/32" bit instead of the 1/16" bit.
    Go to EDIT > BOARD SETTINGS > PATTERN BIT > change from 1/16" (default) to 1/32"

It is making passes like it is a 1/16" bit and twice as thick as it actually is.
    CarveWright CX Packaged System - starting at $2000
    CarversClub 1 Year Subscription - $150.00/year
    Adv. Support w/out CC membership - $25.00/issue
    CarveWright Community Forum - PRICELESS!

Normal will give you a rougher carving than best or optimal settings. Also when setting up your design make sure you set the "bit optimization" to best. If you are going to use the 1/32" bit make sure you change the "pattern bit" default bit setting in the board settings.
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot
    DC-INSERT It Just Sucks!

Proven to out perform all others!
    Buy CarveWright
    Colorado FaceBook Users Group