Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sled question

Default Sled question

Hello,

I have a pattern that I am carving that I built a sled for. The sled is 3/4 thick and the board I am carving is 3/4, so 1 1/2" thick total. I used the outline feature in designer and selected the pattern to be cut out. I loaded the board and the machine touched off with the 1/8 cutting bit and the machine gave the message "board too thick to cut through: 1) Abort 2) Continue" I chose continue and it is currently carving. When it completes the pattern with the cutting bit, will it treat the cut path as if it was cutting through only 3/4 and leave tabs like it normally would and just cut a little into my sled (as i was intending), or will it not perform the cut path at all? I realize the 1/8" bit only cuts 1" deep, I was thinking the machine would just use the thickness of the programmed board and perform the cut path just over 3/4 deep and leave the tabs.

This is my first project with a sled.

Thanks,

Tim

Did you get any message asking to cut through the project or the board? Did you set your board size in designer as 3/4 or 1 1/2?
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot
    DC-INSERT It Just Sucks!

Proven to out perform all others!
    Buy CarveWright
    Colorado FaceBook Users Group

All patterns and projects that I share on the CarveWright forum are for your personal carving purpose. They are not to be shared, sold or posted on any other web site without permission from RingNeckBlues Designs.

No, the machine did not ask to cut through project or board. The board in designer was set to 3/4. From some searching on the forum, it seems it should have asked project or board. If it asks me to load the 1/8 bit after the carving bit has finished, I may just see what happens and have my finger on the stop button. I did set the max cut depth to .260 so it should take it in small cuts.