Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about a Project

Default Question about a Project

Hello, I am new to CarverWright CNC and have a question. I have a project 12 Width x 18 Length and do I have to use a Jig?

Thanks...

Quote Originally Posted by dmcnew View Post
    Hello, I am new to CarverWright CNC and have a question. I have a project 12 Width x 18 Length and do I have to use a Jig?

Thanks...
    No you don't the machine can go 14 wide the length don't matter
    Henry

Every one has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film.

To carve a project where the design is 12" wide by 18" in length, you don't need to use a jig, but you do need have the board the project will be carved out to be at least 25" in length. You need to add at least 7" in length if you don't use a jig...
    John
    www.jdmwoodworks.com
    Facebook Page: click FB button on web page

Bessemer, MI (shop location)
    Lake Gogebic, MI (where I hang my hat)

"He who wants by the yard, but gives by the inch, should be kicked by the foot"...

Good Morning, First of all Thanks You. So I need 3.5 on each side (18 L) ?

What about the (12 W) ?

Thanks...

the width is fine as designed. Only the design length has to be added to by at least 7" if a sled isn't used and you select "Stay under the rollers" (which is recommended)....
    John
    www.jdmwoodworks.com
    Facebook Page: click FB button on web page

Bessemer, MI (shop location)
    Lake Gogebic, MI (where I hang my hat)

"He who wants by the yard, but gives by the inch, should be kicked by the foot"...

Quote Originally Posted by dmcnew View Post

Thanks...

There are many variations but this method will be good for most projects. Especially when first starting out. Personally, I like to set up the project as I need it. I don't like things automatically add in. It causes too many unexpected errors. Here is the way I usually construct my projects:

Virtual board size is the board size in the Designer