Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CarveTight Spindle

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default CarveTight Spindle

Hi;

I currently have the older Carvewright version with the quick change bits. I now understand they no longer carry these bits & I will need to upgrade to the Carve Tight Spindle. I looked in the Carve Wright store & I see them mention the Carve Tight Spindle but I can't find the upgrade or pricing. My other question is what do I do with all my other carving bits & my complete routing bits that cost me a lot of money. I am a hobbyist and I only carve when I get the chance so I'm not up to date with all the changes. I contacted Carvewright but not much help. Can anyone let me know whats going on. Also can you sharpen the older carving bits.

Thank You,

Rod

2. Default

You can buy carving and cutting bits on ebay with out the adapters and then just insert them into the old quick change adapters. Use a torch or even a cigarette lighter to heat up the screws that hold the bit in place before loosening them and that releases the locktight that is on them. There is someone on the forum here that sharpens them but the cost is near buying new ones on ebay. I would recommend eventually going to the carvetight spindle but they are currently out of them and thats why the pricing does not show on the website. put locktight on again when you tighten the screws with the new bits again. If your adapters are well worn you can find them every now and then on ebay as well.

Thank You so much for the information. I will purchase the bits & insert them into the quick change adapters. Hopefully Carvewright will get some Carve Tight Spindles in soon. It's too bad they changed from the quick change. It worked well for me.

Rod

4. Default