Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: Check Cut Motor Fix (for some instances)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Posts
    8,164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digitalwoodshop View Post
    .... She said it updates the MACHINE so in my case, I would need to update the 4 machines as I place them back on line.

    AL
    I do not think the new firmware actually alters the machines, it is just new firmware for the machine to run on just like any new firmware that comes with Designer upgrades. The machine will run with whatever firmware is on the card. One just needs to update all of one's cards.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The Great Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    5,329

    Default

    I was wrong. Firmware lives on the card, not the machine. Update each card.

    Sorry!!!
    CarveWright CX Packaged System - starting at $2000
    CarversClub 1 Year Subscription - $150.00/year
    Adv. Support w/out CC membership - $25.00/issue
    CarveWright Community Forum - PRICELESS!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NE PA USA
    Posts
    9,891

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnfrwd View Post
    I was wrong. Firmware lives on the card, not the machine. Update each card.

    Sorry!!!
    EXCELLENT !!!! Thank you for the update.... Edited my earlier post.

    AL
    Favorite Saying.... "It's ALL About the Brass Roller"..... And "Use MASKING TAPE" for board skipping in the X or breaking bits.

    Follow ME on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Accoun...50019051727074

    www.PoconoDigitalWoodshop.com

    www.AccountabilityTag.com


  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    South Plainfield NJ
    Posts
    407

    Default

    Ok thank you I will update both cards

  5. #15

    Default

    "The message, which reads, “Check Cut Motor”, is a result of a new manufacturing technique on the cutmotors which has made them more efficient than their predecessors."

    I get this often with my B machine. Does this mean my "old" motor is "more efficient"?

  6. #16
    Metallus's Avatar
    Metallus is offline Firmware Lord, Web Guru, IT King, Raccoon Catcher, Cable-repairer, Bucket Dumper, Undisputed Thumbs-Down Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    923

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DickB View Post
    "The message, which reads, “Check Cut Motor”, is a result of a new manufacturing technique on the cutmotors which has made them more efficient than their predecessors."

    I get this often with my B machine. Does this mean my "old" motor is "more efficient"?
    Your cutmotor could be:
    1) Not spinning up fast enough/consuming too much power
    2) Spinning up too fast/consuming too little power (fixed)
    3) Has a broken/failing sensor

    Choose one.

  7. #17

    Default

    I choose 2 that means it's fixed! I will have to give it a try.

    Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Posts
    8,164

    Default

    I think 2 is the new motor case which is the stated reason for the fix. I believe the check cut motor routine has been removed from the firmware. No more checking means no more CCM message in either case 1,2 or, 3.

  9. #19

    Default

    I was trying to be funny.

    I could have an intermittent sensor problem. The sensor test checks out fine every time that I test it, and I don't get this message on every Centerline, vector cut, or cutout; the problem is intermittent. I did get some new information. I thought that the check ment a speed issue, but I was not aware it could also be a current issue. For diagnostic purposes it would be good to know which of the two conditions is causing the check so as to zero in on a fix. I could be my sensor, and it could also be that my motor is drawing too much power on occasion. That makes sense to me; as the commutator gets worn I could see this happening. I have somewhere over 1000 hours on my cut motor.

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bergerud View Post
    I believe the check cut motor routine has been removed from the firmware.
    I don't think so:
    "consuming too little power (fixed)"
    "a new manufacturing technique on the cutmotors which has made them more efficient" (less power)"

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •