Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wood Wow

1. Default Wood Wow

I know so many veteran wood workers will laugh at this but hey, I'm relatively new to this art of wood working.
    I finally found a warehouse here that has wood. I mean wood like a lumber candy store.
    There is lumber from all over this planet. Many have names I can not pronounce. I never realized so many different species were available. Wow. I promised my self I would not go crazy and but everything I ran my hand across. The prices prevented that anyway. I settled on Granadillo. I think that's the name. Anyway it is beautiful. 67 dollars for 3 pieces 1/2x4x3feet.
    They speak a funny language at this place too. Everyone talks about board feet.
    I'm getting an education in my old age.
    just thought I'd let everyone know just how ignorant I am. Ha ha. Its fun discovering new things.

Sent from my LGLS770 using Tapatalk

No laughing will be going on though a few smiles. Welcome to the club. The smiles are because you are doing what we all do. It is like going to the candy store when you have a lumber specialty shop available to you. We have a similar store in south Shreveport and the only reason I am not there every week is because my wallet isn't deep enough. My favorite exotic hardwoods are purple heart and padauk. I've never worked with granadillo but it looks totally beautiful. Let us know how it works.

One thing about laughing, it means you are enjoying what you are doing!

4. Default

I will have to look up that padauk. They have the purple heart too. I'll try it next time. Thanks for the smiles.

Sent from my LGLS770 using Tapatalk