Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to carve a large circle carve region accross small width boards to glueup??

Default How to carve a large circle carve region accross small width boards to glueup??

I'm really new to this!! I have a circle with a saying inside and a pattern of a horse. I have made the circle a carve region. The trick here is I have 5.250 wide boards and I want to carve across the 4 boards with this circle. They are 3.5 feet long. Can I carve this my software says it will not carve this because of staying under rollers the wide pattern I made will not carve right? Can anyone help here?? Ideas maybe. This is going on a table top I hope. I had a friend who passed and I am trying to help his son build a table. Thanks..

Larry..

mcvey.larry@gmail.com

Hi Larry,

Perhaps this will help you understand how to do "big" (multi-part) projects like that:

My Big Sign Using The Tiling Technique – ISSUE 22 July 2009

And...absolutely make CERTAIN your project will run with the board(s) captive under BOTH rollers at all times. Failing to do so may cause you to have a very bad day. Here's another tutorial that may help explain that procedure (if you don't understand the procedure already):

Handy Tips for Everyone! – ISSUE 3 December 2007
    Michael T
    Happy Carving!

═══ Links to Patterns & Resources for CompuCarve™ & CarveWright™ ═══

Larry - The link Michael T provided a link to a great example of how to do a large carve. I followed it for a large (36x4 sign and it worked well.

Best of luck and let us know how it turns out and post pictures.