Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deep cutting (not carving)?

Default Deep cutting (not carving)?

I have a project that involves making a bunch of vector cuts with no carving. (The sides have to be perfectly straight, which the V-bit can't do.) The trouble is that I got 1 1/4" cherry (it was cheaper than 1") and I don't want to do it as a two-sided cut because of indexing issues. So far I've been planing the wood down to 1", but that's a LOT of planing. I'm afraid I've already worn my planer's blades halfway dull!

Is there a way to get the CW to do 1 1/4" cuts? I've seen the long carving bits, but they won't do. I understand I need Designer 2 for this, but is there some way (perhaps using the Rock chuck and a 3rd party cutting bit) to do this? I'm pretty new to the CW so I'm not sure what combination of things have to happen for this to work, or if it's even possible. If it has to be done in two passes it's alright - I just want to avoid the issues that come with two-sided jobs.

I think there may be a way with 2.0. One can assign the 1/16" deep carving bit to a path at a depth of 1.25". It uploads to the card without error so I assume it will cut. If one tricks the machine by using a 3/16" cutting bit instead of the 1/16" bit selected, it might work. Tabs will be a problem.

Quote Originally Posted by bergerud View Post
    I think there may be a way with 2.0. One can assign the 1/16" deep carving bit to a path at a depth of 1.25". It uploads to the card without error so I assume it will cut. If one tricks the machine by using a 3/16" cutting bit instead of the 1/16" bit selected, it might work. Tabs will be a problem.
    This is a good idea, but I measured the cutting bit and it's no good for over 1" deep. More than that, and the non-cutting part of the bit would collide with the wood. Is there some way to get a longer bit? Would I get the Rock chuck for that purpose and if so what kind of cutting bit would be ideal?

I would buy an ER11M adapter: