Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 Piece Carving

Default 2 Piece Carving

Looking for some feedback to see if I've done this correctly. I want to make this a bigger sign so I've made it in 2 pieces, but I've never done this before. Looking for a little feedback/recommendations to see if it looks OK to carve and then glue up. Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Camel Well Plaque.JPG  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    JerryB:.

CarveWright START U Team Member
    Using 1.187, Conform, PE/Probe, Centerline.

"Let's start sharing PTNs instead of MPCs so ALL SW versions can view & share"

Jerry,

I've never split a carve either, but that isn't stopping me from showing my ignorance!
    I see no problem if your boards are wide enough to still have roller support at the well in the bottom piece.
    If you have rails on each side of a 1X12 (usually about 11-1/4" wide in my experience) you should be good-to-go as far as I can tell.
    I would just be concerned that the roller could drop at that point with just a 1X12 board.
    Ken,
    V-1, 2, & 3

When the People fear their Government, there is Tyranny.
    When the Government fears the People, there is Liberty.
    - Thomas Jefferson

You must be the change you wish to see in the world.
    - Mohandas Gandhi

Need help to find pattern of two side race horse running alone with good detail. it's for my family that has stable and is vet. Was ask if could make sign i'm thinking about 13" horses on both ends of the sign. with company name and address below. first row has the horse on the ends with the name on a peace about 14"X 12' X1.5 second board about 14"X 8' X 1.5' and the last line to say the street address. the lettering going to be 10" square. the horses will be done in walnut and the body of the sign would like to do in cedar. or white ash. need help with the horses haven't found any that are two sided that will look good. thanks. lvwood las vegas woodworker.

Default Try this Horse