Thread: Looking For Help For An Easier Way Paint carvings

Default Looking For Help For An Easier Way Paint carvings

I'm a newbie having my machine almost a month, but having a great time with it. This is my first post so home I'm doing this correctly.

I was wondering if anyone has a simpler way or some great shortcuts for painting centerline, outline and raster text signs other than a small brush. Was wondering if anyone has taped up there carve with painters tape or masking tape prior to the carving and then when the carve was done spray those areas before removing the tape. Would the tape either dull the bit or get gunked up from the tape. If not what is the best tape to use? Would appreciate any insight someone might have.

drose01,

Welcome to the CW forum.

Some have done something very similar with masking paper or kitchen contact shelf paper. You need to make sure the paper is smoothed out real good and makes good contact with the board. There should not be any issues with dulling the bit but you will need to clean them real good to get the glue off.
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot
    DC-INSERT It Just Sucks!

Proven to out perform all others!
    Buy CarveWright
    Colorado FaceBook Users Group

All patterns and projects that I share on the CarveWright forum are for your personal carving purpose. They are not to be shared, sold or posted on any other web site without permission from RingNeckBlues Designs.

3. Default

Yes, kitchen shelve paper works great and can be found cheap at dollar stores. If the centerline is carved into an otherwise smooth surface like on a sign i will pretty much slap the paint into the center line text then after it dries a quick hit with the palm sander makes it look like I was an expert painter who carefully stayed in the lines.