Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Trouble opening STL's

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kodiak, Alaska
    Posts
    380

    Default Trouble opening STL's

    Once again I am having some trouble with STL files. I recently made some purchases and have been able to open all but 3 of the STL's. I figured out my problem when it came to adjusting the size etc but these three wont even open. keeps giving me the gui.exe error and closing befor it opens them. Any ideas.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Posts
    8,174

    Default

    That is the error I get when the stl files are too large. Around 100Mb seems to be my limit. Even if they import, the program crashes if I try to alter anything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Panama City, FL
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Not sure of what may be causing the crash, but what type of computer/hardware are you using? May be a lack of RAM or hard drive space for the swap files.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kodiak, Alaska
    Posts
    380

    Default

    The files are 302 MB and 227 MB. I'm not exactly sure what all the parameters of my computer are but I'm fairly sure that it's not adequate enough. It runs the programs but big designs I always seem to have problems. I can open it with Free Cad but I don't know how to re-size it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Posts
    8,174

    Default

    I think the only way to resize an STL is to make the mesh courser. Fewer vertices.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kodiak, Alaska
    Posts
    380

    Default

    I am still trying to open some files. I can open it with freecad and with meshlab however I haven't been able to figure out how to resize them any advice on using either of those programs would be great. Have to type real slow for me because I'm not very smart in these areas.

  7. Default

    I have two suggestions to try.
    1st save, then delete your designer favorites file or rename it. Then try to import the stl. This usually works but if the file is still two big
    2. You said you can import it into mesh lab. Then click on filters, click on normals-curvatures and orientation- click on transform scale. Set the scale to what ever you need to get it to open.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kodiak, Alaska
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Thank you. I've tried number one with no luck at all. I'm going to try suggestion 2. Somebody mentioned mesh lab and I downloaded it but couldn't figure out how to make changes. Thank you again. I will let you know if I have any success.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kodiak, Alaska
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Update on those files I couldn't open. I still can't open them but I have opened some even larger and not been able to open a couple even smaller. A friend helped me open them in artcam and we were able to make STL's I could open. Thanks for the advice and help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •