Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Very frustrated

Default Very frustrated

I don't mean to sound like a newbie. I've been on this board for awhile, logged around 250 hours on my Carvewright and made some lovely objects, some of fairly sophisticated complexity. I like my CW when its working but I'm not an engineer, I'm not all that terribly handy and my self-knowledge makes me loathe to unscrew the entire unit, take it apart and be confident as to whether I will EVER be able to put it back together again correctly. I know that I'm at a point where the brushes on the motor need changing, but I'm not confident in my ability to do the job.

The machine has always pretty danged finicky and now the cut motor simply won't work. I've read about changing out the brushes (the video was helpful, but did not do any closeups to tell you what to do with them when you have them inserted). I read everything on the forum about problems and still don't know what some of the things everyone is talking about may be. Some of the jargon is pretty thick and I'm considering sending the whole unit back to LHR (at $85 shipping) and asking them to do a full system checkout. I like it when it works, but danged if it breaks down just a little too often for my liking.

So I guess this is me venting. But I'm also the one that had 20+ hours into a carve, a z axis fail (and $70 worth of oak now wasted), a cut motor that won't cut nuttin' and, potentially a cost to ship my unit back to its manufacturer. Is this the gift that keeps on giving (taking)? I cannot proceed on my current project until the doors are done and it does not look like that's happening anytime soon and its because I cannot count on my carving machine to do what its meant to do.

2. Default