Thread: If the spindle would turn, I would not have to sand near as much!

Default If the spindle would turn, I would not have to sand near as much!

Well, yesterday I turned on my new Carvewright for the first time. Everything went fine (I thought) until I removed the board after the carve. The spindle had not turned on and the bit had actually carved out the pattern in the wood without breaking! I turned the board over and started again with a flashlight on the carving bit but it was not turning! There had not been any sound from the spindle and I was excited that it was so quiet. I put my fingers on the spindle and felt nothing as in what you would feel if you felt an electric motor etc.What to do?!?! I will appreciate any and all help but let it be known that I am not an electrician.

First take the bit out of the machine. Then from the main menu press 0,8 (user tests) and run the cut motor test. Follow the prompts on the screen. You will be asked to insert a board, lower the head and remove the bit.

The cut motor should come on and to stop press any key. I doubt the motor will come on based on what you have posted.

As an FYI during the start carve steps after it tells you to install the bit and you acknowledge that you have, the cut motor is suppose to turn on for a second or two. If not that should tell you something is not right and you should abort the carve and investigate before loosing a bit/board.

Things to check are the wire connections to the cut motor in the far back corner by the cut motor. Connections are tucked into a pocket at the end of the motor. The door switch on the non keyboard end of the machine. The switch is the on/of for the cut motor. Do all checks with the machine unplugged..
    RingNeckBlues
    My patterns on the Depot
    DC-INSERT It Just Sucks!

Proven to out perform all others!
    Buy CarveWright
    Colorado FaceBook Users Group