Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just finishing up. Need an opinion.

Default Just finishing up. Need an opinion.

I am just finishing up this for my Daughter. Realizing that I am very new to painting so easy on that part..haha. I have two things I would like an opinion on.

1.) She asked of I could add key holder hooks to this or would it look funny? I think you could but they would have to go inside where the feather and the background meet. Not enough edge to do it right. Opinions?

2.) There is a carved lip around the hearts. Should I highlight them with paint and what color?

Here is the Project.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130804_102727.jpg 
Views:	155 
Size:	2.69 MB 
ID:	63897

Thanks in advance

Dave
    The Magic of making Sawdust.

I think your painting skills are pretty darn good, Dave. I like the color choices and how you have highlighted features. I believe that key hooks would work alright and agree they would need to be where the feather meets the background. I also see some advantage to highlighting the exterior of the hearts. My first thought would be a gold color, but I am sure there are better eyes than mine for a good color choice and I would defer to them...
    John
    www.jdmwoodworks.com
    Facebook Page: click FB button on web page

Bessemer, MI (shop location)
    Lake Gogebic, MI (where I hang my hat)

"He who wants by the yard, but gives by the inch, should be kicked by the foot"...

Very nice. Good painting skills!

Dave,

Great job sir! Do not under rate your painting skills, you must of had a great coach !