Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you change out the router quick Changer

Default How do you change out the router quick Changer

I am new to the carvewright machine(2weeks). While making my first project I put in the 90 degree bit to router the edges. The bit came loose, I immediately turned off the machine, but it put burrs on all 4 tabs on the quick changer on the machine. Stopping it from coming all the way down and locking the bits in place. I bought a new quick changer from Sears, I disconnected the flex cable, took off the flex cable holder and the retaining ring from underneath. I am very mechanically inclined but am not sure how to proceed from here. I'm hoping someone has been through this or has a shop manual. I live in California and don't want to ship it to Texas just for this. Thank you very much in advance.
    Limelicker

The Bard Guest

use something square to hold the top in place... we use a ground down allen wrench. Then take, I believe, a 7/8ths flat wrench to screw the quick change off and the new one back on.

Use a small dab of blue (medium) threadlock on the spindle before putting it on, though. Then tighten as tight as you can w/o breaking the allen wrench.

At least I THINK that's how you do it.

That's about right Chris. I will help to remove it if you warm it with a heatgun or hair dryer first to soften the threadlock.
    The 50-50-90 rule: Anytime you have a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there's a 90% probability you'll get it wrong.

Do it on a Mac.
    Vietnam Vet '65-'66

You guys are too good . Thanx for the very fast replies. Was done for the day here, was gonna start fresh again tomorrow morning. I feel a lot better, now that I have a game plan for tomorrow. Thank you very much, Bard and you too Pkunk !! Limelicker
    Limelicker

The Bard Guest

Default Chuck Removal