Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Guy WIP Pistol Grips - Advice Welcome

Default New Guy WIP Pistol Grips - Advice Needed

I will start by saying I am brand new at this and am just starting to catch on......maybe.

My project is to scan and carve pistol grips for a model 1911.

The scan shown is the best I have been able to accomplish so far.
    I didn't do any cleanup other than to fill in the screw holes from the grips I scanned.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Burl Source; 02-19-2011 at 05:36 PM.
    Mark Farley

I was hoping if I showed how I carved this, some of the more experienced guys might step up and tell me what I am doing wrong, if I am doing something potentially dangerous, or if they know a better way to go about it.

The first photo shows the carving sled I will be using.
    The 2 pieces to be carved are about 5&1/2" x 2" x 3/8" I am using pieces thicker than I need. Final thickness of finished piece should be 1/4".

Next I have placed test pieces in the sled.

Finally taped the edges with masking tape then started carving.

Mark Farley

I carved these at optimal setting. They turned out the correct size and looked pretty good.

================================================== =========

The first Issue I need to deal with is the stepped edges.

I had planned to run these through my drum sander face down to remove excess thickness. I figured they would just drop out of the rectangle when I got to the depth of the carving but the stepped carving prevents that from working.

================================================== ===========

Ideally I would like to be able to do a 2 sided carving the correct thickness with the features shown in the next photo carved into the backs.

================================================== ============