Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question For All You Smart People Out There

Default Question For All You Smart People Out There

I'm having trouble wrapping my mind around this.....

My son wants to add some carvings to the stock of an old rifle he has...not a valuable piece, so there's no threat in trashing it's value.

He's also asked me about using the CW to carve an entirely new stock - this, of course, would be accomplished by scanning the existing one, and having a go at it. Real problem here would be creating all the areas for the trigger mechanisms, etc., something I'm not up to going after (I'm not an artist - that's why I own a Carvewright).

However, with adding carvings to an existing stock (or baseball bat, for that matter) - here's my brain cramp -

Scan the existing stock, now I have the proper surface contours to add my carvings, text, whatever. Do my magic in Designer, get my design right, get ready to carve - now what?

How do I place the existing stock in the machine (I know it has to go in a sled/carrier), and guarantee that the carve will go exactly where I want it to? My first guess is that you have to build the sled the exact same dimension as Designer's board, and that the stock has to be placed in the sled at the exact same place as the "scan" that's been created and put on Designer's board.

But, carving on an existing surface like this, it has to be spot on.

Is there an option during the machine's spin-up where you tell it where to begin the carve (like jog to touch)? That would be the easiest option, at least to me.

Does any of this make sense? Seems like too many variables to give it a go.
    Livin' Life
    Lovin' My Carvewright

RMarkey is offline Firmware Lord, Web Guru, IT King, Raccoon Catcher, Cable-repairer, Bucket Dumper, Undisputed Thumbs-Down Champion

You could try only scanning the part where you want the words to go. Mark the edges on the stock with tape so you can find the corner later when you do the carve.