Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need help - burning bits and end grain

Default Need help - burning bits and end grain

I have been using the CW for a few months now. I am getting good results but have one thing I am not able to resolve. Maybe it is the way it is but wanted some help.

Attached is the project. I need to remove some wood and make a pocket in the board. I use a 3/8 straight bit. I cut away about 1/8" deep and 3/8" wide in each pass. I use a good quality 4 flute solid carbide bit.

When I cut with the 3/8" bit, the end grain burns and the bit burns. The cutting end of the bit gets all blue and becomes useless after cutting a few boards. I do not get any burining with the 1/8" straight bit.

Originally, my vector cut pattern was a spiral strating in the middle and going to the ends. This meant there was a lot of cross grain cuts and lots of burning. Now the pattern is a back and forth with the grain. It seems to help but not a lot.

Some questions I have are:
    Should I cut off more/less with each pass?
    Should I select a 1/4" or 1/2" bit to speed up/slow down feed rate?
    Is cutting with the grain or across grain better?
    Is a climb cut better?
    Should I just use a smaller bit and bite the bullet on a long cut time?

Any thoughts and help are appreciated?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Bob Pittman
    using rock chuck, designer 1.182, dxf importer, scanning probe, stl importer
    Windows 7
    member of New England Luthiers
    http://www.newenglandluthiers.org/

Do you have a QC or CT or Rock...? I am betting you have a worn QC....

AL
    Favorite Saying.... "It's ALL About the Brass Roller"..... And "Use MASKING TAPE" for board skipping in the X or breaking bits.

Follow ME on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Accoun...50019051727074

www.PoconoDigitalWoodshop.com

www.AccountabilityTag.com

I have the rock chuck. It was installed as soon as I got the CW
    Bob Pittman
    Windows 7