Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Buying lumber (ie. wood for dummies)

Default Buying lumber (ie. wood for dummies)

Ok, now that I finally have two machines that work reasonable well (mostly thanks to the rock), I ma ready to start doing some more interesting projects on other hardwoods. So far I have just carved mostly pine with the ocasional oak board from lowes thrown in.

I am a novice so my questions would be....

Where can i buy wood besides the bigbox stores? Should i just do a google search for sawmills? What do I want to ask for? I really want to get some maple, red oak, ceder, walnut. I'm thinking I can get away with rought cut lumber as typicaly i'm taking the surface of the board off anyways during the carving process. I'm in western PA near amish country (10 miles) so I have had others tell me to go find out where the amish cabinetmakers get there wood... but I dont want to offend anyone and I'm not real sure how the amish view us "outsiders".

Will most sawmills sell to the general public? In my mind I think I would be looking for boards in teh 6-12" width range, 1" thick and 8ft or shorter in length. Can I buy in small quantities (2-5 boards at a time or would have have to buy truckloads?

Any guideance would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to dumb things down as much as possible. I'm still not clear on most wood related terminology.

Thanks,

Doug Fletcher

Thumbs up

Doug,

I live close to a Amish community and I purchased some lumber not that long ago from them. They are good honest people to deal with.

I purchase 700 bf of rough sawed mostly clear ash lumber 10" to 12" mostly 10' in length a couple of months ago for $1.00 foot. It was air dried for 4 years. This lumber was rejected by the veneer buyers but you have ask yourself why. It was hard to find any flaws in the lumber.

Default Amish

Quote Originally Posted by dbfletcher View Post