PDA

View Full Version : Help with Litho's ASAP

derrickmdale
01-08-2009, 01:56 AM
I am trying to due a picture/litho collage for my parents 25th anniversary coming up soon. I have never tried to do one of these before and I'm aware that a project like this probably is not the place to start. So I thought I would turn to my fellow carvies to get some advice. I know it has been stated time and time again throught the threads but I was wondering if you guys wouldn't mind posting a small tutorial on how to put modify the picture format what the "standard" mods are before it's loaded into CW software and cutting depths, etc. What thickness material, etc.

Again, I know this is a repeat, but it would be greatly appreciated. If anyone out there just has a "need" to convert litho files I could gladly use your expertise or assistance.

Thanks

LittleRedWoodshop
01-08-2009, 02:02 AM
People can say all they want about the use of High-End, exspensive software, BUT. The only software that I use is the software that came with the CW machine and probe. My settings are as follows. depth is .18 and the heighth is 450 - using 1/4 inch cast acrylic or Corian.

Gary Koval
01-08-2009, 07:59 AM
Derrickmdale,
Just a thought but why don't you try that cutting board from Lowe's that was mentioned in prior postings, the name escapes me now. I buy it in the 12x18 inch size cut it into 4-5x7's and and use it that way. At about $9.00 it might be worth getting your depths and heights right before cutting corian. And like LittleRedWorkshop says, I also use .180-.185 depth but depending upon the picture, go from 50 to 400 height. Sorry don't have a tutorial but the information can be had in past posts.
Gary

Edit:Cutting board, brand name "Sabatier" 12" x 18".

DStimpson
01-09-2009, 06:26 AM