PDA

View Full Version : Too Thick?

James RS
12-28-2008, 12:45 PM
Ok kinda confused on this one,I am making a box 3/4" from a thick board, I set the depths not to cut all the way through on the first pass. Selected the 1/8" cutting bit, I attached the Mpc file. What confuses me is this I can select a bit and have it cut through but there's no tabs.
I made a rectangle and used cut path with a max depth of .25 seems right to me, but hey I'm still learning anyway loaded the board went through all the prompts correctly carve the design on the back first ask that I flip the board. Did that measured again then I get Too Thick Cannot cut? with Abort or Continue. I hit continue it asked for the 1/8" bit and it routed the channels first then it proceeded to do the cutting. Any ideas, should I have done something differently? And my bit got stuck again even after I cleaned the holder out and applied 3 in 1 oil.

Many Thanks,
Jim

Digitalwoodshop
12-28-2008, 12:56 PM
As for the stuck bit. I have had that with a 1/8 inch bit because of the screws in the bit holder. The allen head was expanded slightly. A file took care of the bit problem.

As for the Too THICK... I get that too with 1.131 and believe LHR will fix it next update. For some reason it wants the V90 bit in some of my projects first and gives the too thick error then asks for the 1/8 inch cut path bit and goes on just fine.

It could be it is asking the the V90 first but it should ask for the 1/8 inch cut out bit or the last function bit like it did with older versions.

AL

James RS
12-28-2008, 01:05 PM
Thanks Al for the tip on the allen screws, it's weird it only hapens to the 1/8" cutting bit the carving bit releases no problem at all. The too Thick issue it doesn't ask for the V90 at all it prompts for the correct bit 1/8" cutting, I'll just have to wait for the big yellow and black book
Carvewright for Dummies lol

mtylerfl
12-28-2008, 01:11 PM