PDA

View Full Version : The crank is not adjusting down.

jonm3
12-24-2008, 08:26 AM
Any idea why the crank will not lower? I can not lower the crank. I had it set up, with the bit in it and it would not lower. It did say that when your cranking it down, you will hear 5 clicks, I heard more than that. Any idea's what I should do, or not doing to get it to work? I am new to Carve Wright Message Boards.

lhanner
12-24-2008, 08:36 AM
I have had the same problem, spring pressure. what I did was remove the crank handel, and reinstall it. If this dose not work you can do this. On top of the CW their are 4 bolts remove 2 of the bolts one at a time, and barrow the washers. Then remove the crank handle again and put the washer on the crank handle shaft. Call tech support and they will send you the washer, and you can replace back the washers you removed.

pine acres woodshop
12-24-2008, 09:00 AM
The head might be cranked up to high. Look in your manual it shows you how to get it to start lowering by turning one of the post, one of the post has a hole in it to assist in lowering the head. Try this first before you start taking things apart. Merry Christmas.
Mark

twiceretired
12-24-2008, 09:15 AM
Look at this thread, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

http://forum.carvewright.com/showthread.php?t=8259&highlight=head+lowering

HelpBot3000
12-24-2008, 09:20 AM
That thread is very useful but I think this is a different issue. If you are cranking the head down and it does not click but just keeps pressing down then usually that means the lubricant has dried up on the lead screws and guide posts. Try putting a little white lithium grease on those by hand and crank the head up and down to get it evenly distributed. Then see if your clicks come back. If they don't call hardware support so we can check if you have a more serious problem.

FINGERS
12-24-2008, 09:25 AM