PDA

View Full Version : Im new to the machine. Help!

RickD1955
12-16-2008, 03:34 PM
I am new to the machine and to online forums. My machine head is stuck. When I try to lower it all I get is a click just like it was all the way down.Can anyone help me?:roll:

Kenm810
12-16-2008, 04:06 PM
Hi Rick,

Welcome to the CW Forum,

It's a very common new carver problem

Vertical Lockup: Cranking the head beyond its highest useable
height can result in it locking in a position where the head crank cannot
lower it. Releasing from this locked position it is very easy. The
threaded head screw needs to be manually turned and can be
accessed from the inside of the machine. On this head screw, just
above the traction belts, is a hole into which an Allen wrench or similar
tool can be inserted. Using the Allen wrench as leverage, turn the
head screw a clockwise direction to unlock it.
Carvewright Manual (http://www.carvewright.com/downloads/CarveWright_manual_10-14-08.pdf)
CW Probe Manual (http://www.carvewright.com/downloads/CW_probe_manual_01-18-08.pdf)
Exploded view parts list (http://www.carvewright.com/downloads/parts_list_manual.pdf)
troubleshooting_guide_04-17-07.pdf (http://forum.carvewright.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=6161&d=1191280559)

FIGURE 32:

mtylerfl
12-16-2008, 04:33 PM
I am new to the machine and to online forums. My machine head is stuck. When I try to lower it all I get is a click just like it was all the way down.Can anyone help me?

Hello Rick,

Provided you didn't simply raise the head too high...

That can be caused by your workshop being too cold. The operating temperature range for the machine is between 60° to 100°. (The lube on the mechanical parts will gum up if too cold.)

Bring your shop temp up to the proper level if it isn't already within that range. (This time of year, the Tech Support guys get a lot of calls from folks having "trouble" when all it is, is that the shop is too cold.)