PDA

View Full Version : can carvewright be used to cut out windows in wood model buildings

ironrailsbud
12-15-2008, 11:54 AM
:)
Hello...newbie here. I have a couple questions.
1. can the cw be used to cut out windows in wood, styrene, plastics, for model buildings ?

2. can you use your photos(.jpg) to carve out the photo or parts of it, or cut out part of the photo for use in making a model from it ? I guess the question is can you scan your photos with the cw software ?

I don't have a cw yet, but depending on the answers to these questions I may have one real soon !

thanks, Bud

cnsranch
12-15-2008, 12:08 PM
Hello...newbie here. I have a couple questions.
1. can the cw be used to cut out windows in wood, styrene, plastics, for model buildings ?

2. can you use your photos(.jpg) to carve out the photo or parts of it, or cut out part of the photo for use in making a model from it ? I guess the question is can you scan your photos with the cw software ?

I don't have a cw yet, but depending on the answers to these questions I may have one real soon !

thanks, Bud

Bud -

RE #1 - you can carve wood, corian and cast acrylics - nothing that has a relatively low melt point - plastics will melt as the bit is spinning at 20,000 rpm. Cut outs are no problem.

#2 - You can import jpegs into Designer software, and carve the result. Search "lithopane" "litho" "lithophane" for some examples. Also, search "pics" or the like to get some real-time results.

ironrailsbud
12-15-2008, 06:01 PM
thanks for the quick response...I think I'm going to like this place.

Another question: are the reconditioned cws recommended or would brand new be better...I assume some of the problems I've read about in the forum have been corrected on the newer and most up-to-date versions of both the carver and software ?

thanks, again...Bud

Digitalwoodshop
12-15-2008, 08:13 PM
If your thinking of buying a machine to cut window holes in thin stock, it would work for it.