PDA

View Full Version : My first attempt at lithophane boxes

brdad
12-10-2008, 06:11 PM
I made two identical lighted lithophane boxes, they will be given to the brothers featured on the lithophane (my new stepsons, many years older now). Since both are technically minded, I wanted a box where the lithophane could be easily removed, for hands on viewing.

The first three pics are of the box itself. I didn't use the CW for these, it was much easier on a router table. The lithopane is held in my a 5/15 slot cut on the sides, bottom, and top. The wood is maple, I think the stain was walnut, and I used tung oil instead of poly for the shine, I am not too good with poly. I am mostly happy with how they look, but appear a bit like a shrine or a tomb?

I had not decided if I was going to paint the inside of the boxes or not, and then I remembered I had a roll of aluminum tape. It is great stuff and I use it a lot for other projects, and you can't get more reflective! It was great to have two identical projects to compare lighting with and without the inside of the box being reflective. The last two pics somewhat show the difference between using the reflective tape or just leaving the dark wood inside. The first picture is with the tape; the second without. The pictures don't do great justice, but I can tell you the light is much more uniform and a bit brighter with the tape. definitely worth it, and possibly the aluminum dissipates any heat a bit. there is an 1/8 inch crack between the cover and the base to help any heat escape.

If you decide to use this tape, I recommend you make sure when you buy it is is aluminum; they make some that is plastic - just as shiny, but I feel the quality is better with the real stuff.

Kenm810
12-10-2008, 06:22 PM
brdad,

Great job on the Lithos and the Dispaly cabinets
(look to nice to just call them light boxes)
and thanks for making me think about the aluminum tape
I have a roll of it and never thought to use it to reflect the light.