PDA

View Full Version : IPOD or MP3 player covers?

mstang64bb
12-05-2008, 06:29 AM
Hello all,

Has anyone carved a wood case or cover for their IPOD or MP3 player would and be willing to share it? I'm a middle school teacher who has some students that want to use our Compucarve to make covers or cases for their players.

Thanks, Bob

ChrisAlb
12-05-2008, 07:05 AM
Hi Bob and welcome,

Never tried that but I'm sure it can be done. I don't even know what one looks like or it's size and dimensions (old dog here) but if your machine has the probe, you can scan the cover and reproduce a replica of it.

mstang64bb
12-05-2008, 08:29 AM
Chris,

Thanks for your reply. However I do not have a probe at this time. It's on my wish list for next years budget.

Bob

ChrisAlb
12-05-2008, 08:41 AM
Where are you located Bob? I'm in PA.

Are all Ipod covers the same size and shape? If I could get my hands on one I could do the scan and post the MPC.

I think my kids have them but their away at collage right now. Maybe when they come back for Christmas break I could scan one.

ChrisAlb
12-05-2008, 08:48 AM
I just went to Apples site. It would "appear" there are 4 different types (Shuffle, Nano, Classic and Touch) and they are all different sizes and configurations for buttons and screens.

It would seem it would have to be a custom cover for each one.

HelpBot3000
12-05-2008, 08:58 AM
This is true about the different sizes for different models. Additionally, with each new "generation" of each iPOD they change the size (height, thickness, etc.) which forces folks to get new cases every time they upgrade. This is a very interesting idea about the wood case though. I would really like to see it if someone can generate a pattern for it.

ChrisAlb
12-05-2008, 09:16 AM
Although it would appear they would have to be pretty thin, I have no doubt that a pattern or scan could be done. I've done many outlet covers and although not the same, they're close enough to make me think it's possible.