PDA

View Full Version : Best Type of wood for Carving

musicman
10-23-2008, 06:30 PM
Hi everyone

I am new to this carving thing, what is the best wood to carve with?

I have used pine but it doesn't seem to have the quality I would like, I also used Oak for the Last Supper wasn't much different.
Any suggestions. HELP!!!!!!
Thanks
Musicman

Amonaug
10-23-2008, 06:35 PM
http://forum.carvewright.com/showthread.php?t=6478&highlight=best+wood

brady.schwyhart
10-23-2008, 06:35 PM
Musicman,
It really depends on the project that your doing that would determine the wood you use. I work mostly with whiteboard pine myself, but switch it up for some projects. I have used oak and aspen and have like the results for the projects I used them for. I've even used select pine depending on what I was doing. IMHO the best advice is for you to just experiment and see what you like best. It can get costly, with the price of lumber going up, but once you hit your groove with your preferred medium, you'll love it.
Brady

MAX COX
10-23-2008, 06:47 PM
I Have Used A Lot Of Red Oak With Pretty Good Success. Also I Have Used Pine, Poplar , And White Oak Along With Cherry. My Personal Preference Is White Oak And Cherry.

Kenm810
10-23-2008, 07:07 PM
Don't forget Hard Maple, Really nice details and fewer fuzzies.
Check with your local lumber yards, the one nearest me has tons of cut offs 1 x 6s, 1 x 8s, 10" and 12"
all 2,3,4 foot long that no one wants so they sell them for 50% to 75% off per ft.
Red and White Oak, Maple, Poplar, Aspin, Pine, and several others.
I can't resist grabbing a few every time I stop there. http://forum.carvewright.com/images/icons/icon11.gif

musicman
10-23-2008, 07:37 PM
Thanks for the info. I'll try them

musicman

deemon328
10-23-2008, 08:50 PM
I'm not in the mood to read the old thread.

I really like closed grain woods in general. My favorites are:

Cherry
Maple