PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about buying

MK1950
09-07-2008, 11:21 AM
Hi all! I've been a carpenter since about 1968, and am really thinking about buying one. Been a trim carpenter for about half that time and am thinking that this would work great for doing carved designs in fireplace surrounds.
What I am wondering is the amount of time it would take to do it. For instance, how long to do say one of the corner designs that comes with the software in apiece of oak?
Also was concerned about parts availability and service. From what I have read, most everybody is fairly pleased in that area.
I learned along time ago, that it's best to buy quality tools the first time. This appears to be a quality machine. Any imput would be appreciated!
Thank's

supershingler
09-07-2008, 11:57 AM
length of time it takes to make a carve depends on depth and quality
i just carved a litho which was about 12" wide by 10" tall and it took about 2 hours to carve. the length of the carve seem to have a determining factor about the time as the cw carves 1/16" at a pass so the longer the pass the longer the carve time

i dont think you will be dissappointed if you purchase one of these machine.
ive only had mine a couple of months but wouldnt live without it. its options are endless as far as im concerned.

read through the tips and techniques and read as much on the forum as your wife will allow lol

im totally happy with the results im acheiving. i bought mine for the same reason as you. to do carvings on fireplace fronts and mantels but you will find a ton more uses that just that

good luck and hope to see some of your work in the future

kendall

911guy
09-07-2008, 03:05 PM
I would agree that time it takes depends on the quality you want (there are settings also to choose from - Good, Best, etc).