PDA

View Full Version : Pressure Treated?

tstryk
08-22-2008, 06:43 AM
So far, I have refused to carve and pressure treated wood because of the chemicals released. How do you folks feel about it? Have you carved any? I won't even cut it with a saw indoors.

badger
08-22-2008, 06:49 AM
Members carve the MDF all the time. As mentioned though make sure you have a decent dust collection system and mask if you will be in the same room. Always safety first, thats why they make the equipment.

luckettg
08-22-2008, 06:55 AM
I have been using PT lumber and panels for a couple of years recently for building sheds, bulkheads, fences, and decks. This left me with some scrap to play with. I do not burn the PT lumber scraps like I do with the other scraps and when making lots of cuts I wear a dust filter. This being said, I rejected using any in the CarveWright due to it brittleness, cracking, and uneaveness. I have run some through the planer and on the jointer a few years ago to experiment with sign building using a router. The results were not good. I much prefer white oak, sassafras, and cedar for the signs.
Greg.

luckettg
08-22-2008, 06:57 AM
Members carve the MDF all the time. As mentioned though make sure you have a decent dust collection system and mask if you will be in the same room. Always safety first, thats why they make the equipment.

MDF is considered to be PT? I did not realize that. I do carve with it and do wear a breathing mask as the glues in it are hazardous.
Greg.

Kenm810
08-22-2008, 07:04 AM
Remember it's not wise to Carve either of these products in an indoors or basement shop,
That is heated or cooled by a centeral forced air Furnace - A/C unit.
The airborne Dust and Chemicals will be distributed through out the entire Building or House.
Offices, Lunch Rooms, and at home in Bedrooms, Kitchens, Nurseries. Please be careful.

luckettg
08-22-2008, 07:09 AM
That is good advice, Ken.:)

badger
08-22-2008, 07:17 AM