PDA

View Full Version : What is reasonable for a CC machine?

cdg
08-14-2008, 06:48 PM
OK I don't consider myself to be one of those disgruntled people with nothing positive to say about the CompuCarve machine. It makes it possible to do things in a home shop that are otherwise not possible and certainly not as speedy as the machine can do them.

So far I've been impressed with LHR support with the exception of one individual. They take care of my problems when they pop up but I'm getting near the end of my rope with the problems the machine experiences.

With 12 carving hours the machine needed a cut motor and a quick change adapter.

By 20 hours the machine needed to be sent back for major service that was allegedly related to the fact that this machine is part of several thousand faulty units. They were not clear as to why a recall notice was not issued but I'm not a corporate lawyer and really don't mind that much - the company was upfront about the problem and insisted on fixing it for free.

The machine has 36 hours on it and now needs an RPM sensor and possibly another cut motor and maybe an A/C switch.

My question is whether or not this is typical for a CarveWright/CompuCarve machine. It seems like failures of this magnitude should be happening every few hundred hours, not every 10 or 12 hours.

I spent a good deal of time working with a Morbidelli 336 in a production cabinet shop so I understand that CNC technology is finicky and breaks relatively frequently - unlike a table saw that can go for thousands of hours with little maintenance a CNC router must be constantly maintained and even with good maintenance procedure will still break down far more often than the other shop tools.

My next question is dependent on the first question earlier and that is whether or not this particular machine may be the source of my problems. I'm asking for subjective opinions of course not concrete answers.