PDA

View Full Version : clean the sensor

Technicow
08-06-2008, 11:00 PM
I've had my carvewright for 2 weeks now and personally think it is a tremendous piece of robotics. Like any high end device, there will be never ending refining of various parts.

I got hit by the "Clean Sensor" error this past weekend. After checking the forums here I checked the options-7, and saw a never ending zero return from the board sensor. Again, after reading posts on this it became apparent that emitters and/or detector had separated from the PCB in the sensor unit.

I have a replacement on it's way (I have only positive things to say about any calls or emails with carvewright, their support for their customers is top notch. It reminds me of how companies used to treat folks.).

I chose to pay the $5 core and keep the busted unit to see if I can determine a solution. My day job is making devices for the military which goes out in the field. Generally the stuff needs to be pretty rugged and everything-proof.

Through observation, I've seen what I suspect as the achilles heal on this component. The PCB is glued to the plastic enclosure. The emitters are on the "other side" of the rigid plastic (those who have looked know what I mean here). The issue is that vibration loosens and breaks the glue holding the PCB in place. Once that glue is not holding, the PCB gets shaken and it "worries" the leads for the emmiters & detector. They wind up giving way.

The solution I've devised is to fix the breaks in the connections. Then stiffening the emitters & detectors to the PCB. Afterwards, I have the PCB assembly operate as though on a "shock absorber" within the plastic enclosure. The "wall" between emitters / detectors is removed (dremel with a cutting wheel).