PDA

View Full Version : newbie need help

supershingler
07-11-2008, 01:26 PM
ive had my machine for only a week

did a couple of test carves and was asked to make a banner hanger for my church.

i started it is designer and realized im not experienced enough to figure out how to lay this out completely

i want to get carvings to stand out and need a cutpath on the outside to make this work cant seem to figure out this process

i will try to download the file if i can figure that out

i would like to mirror this cut left and right and glue both together

thanks in advance

kendall

13Z5M
07-11-2008, 01:52 PM
I'm still VERY new to this, too. Is this something like what you had in mind? Maybe it is something you can change to get where you want to be.

Steve

supershingler
07-11-2008, 02:22 PM
you have the outside cut but i was hoping to follow the carvings to create hooks for the hangers
go around the inside of the carvings to the top right and then down to the bottom of the next one

cnsranch
07-11-2008, 02:48 PM
I don't think the attached will work, but I think it's closer to what you're looking for?

DocWheeler
07-11-2008, 03:04 PM
Kendall,

What cnsranch proposed is the easiest design method and will work very well.
The down-side is that the sides of the hooks will be tapered like the carving bit.

Using the cut-path method will produce straight sides, but would be a bear to create. You would use the Spline tool to create the desired cut-path. You might like to experiment some with it before deciding what to do. A hint: make sure that where you are drawing is in the center of the screen (move the material), especially if you have it grossly enlarged as the depth aspect will displace the view of the hooks.

Anyway, those are my thoughts.

supershingler
07-11-2008, 03:35 PM
maybe i should just carve the basics and then hit the bandsaw
it might be a lot easier

is there an easy way to space the carvings evenily and follow the bottom angle

cnsranch