PDA

View Full Version : Got to be an easier way to do this

oldfartjoe
07-07-2008, 05:48 PM
Hi,

First project turned out really nice...problem with my second. I have a sign designed that uses all three of the text options Raster, Outline and Centerline. Things went good with the Raster text and the Outline Text probably because they used the same bit...However the Centerline Text carved with the same bit. Looks terrible...Never told me to change to the
V groove bit. What did I do wrong?

I assumed that once everything was in designer and the sign looked great that it would carve the same way..WRONG.

Question is how to put it all together? Do I have to load each section as a seperate operation? I'm almost sure there must be a simple way to do this but I have looked and looked and cannot find the answer.

Most of the first time carvings shown here are so good. I guess I expected mine to be the same..WRONG AGAIN!
I'm not very good with the computer..sometimes I think we speak a different language. (okay, maybe most of the time)

The learning curve is more difficult than I expected.

Thanks,
Joe

TurkeyBranch
07-07-2008, 05:51 PM
Joe,
Post your .mpc file on here and I or someone else will look and make sure it is right.
I had that problem once before, I had forgotten to set the bit to v-groove

Ed

oldfartjoe
07-07-2008, 11:43 PM
Ed,
Thanks for answering me. I redid my file and tried carving again and this time it carved perfectly. I am pleased with the result. I was sure to select the v-groove bit this time so that must have been my problem. Okay so now I can carve basic text...I'm a happy camper.

Thanks again,
Joe

Major_A
07-08-2008, 11:29 AM
Do not Copy and Paste text that is using different style carving methods. I ran into this issue a while back and was a little dumbfounded until I found out what the problem was. So if you have a Raster text carve do not copy and paste that then open the text to edit it and change the style to Centerline.

LollyWood