PDA

View Full Version : Carving changes speed

BarryLondrigan
07-04-2008, 08:35 PM
Hi there all. I am new to CW and new to the forum. Great place. I ended up with two machines! I have only carved three things so far..

I have a question concerning the motor speed. This has happened on both machines so I assume it is normal.. It was carving along at a certain speed....and then the sound of the motor indicated it had sped up considerably....and it maintained that new speed. It sounded a lot cleaner atthat speed as well. At 50% I lifted the cover to vacuum....when I put it back down....it returned to the original speed.

Is there a bearing issueor something? Anyone have this experience?

Thanks

barry

Steven Alford
07-04-2008, 08:39 PM
I have noticed the same thing with my machine so I am going to assume it is normal.

I t was mentioned in previous posts that lifting the lid is not the best way to stop the carving. You should use the stop button on the key pad.

Steve

ChrisAlb
07-04-2008, 08:46 PM
Mines run at turbo at various points in the carve since day one. Don't know if it "should" but it's always carved fine.

Lifting the cover to stop the machine is perfectly fine. It's designed that way and again, I've done it since day one several times per carve to clean.

AskBud
07-04-2008, 09:02 PM
I have noticed that the speed increases when the carve depth is less/lighter, and there is no complicated carve. I notice it at the end of carving a rectangle as if makes the finishing cuts.
i.e. lighter is faster.
AskBud

BarryLondrigan
07-04-2008, 10:12 PM
Thanks guys...that eases my mind a bit. I am just learning but we are excited about the fun ahead...we got one for each of us....dualing carvewrights! This is a great place to learn...without it...these machines would not be half the fun!

Digitalwoodshop
07-04-2008, 10:55 PM
It's almost midnight and am I the only one still working.... Delivery day tomorrow....