PDA

View Full Version : Stair Stepping Revisited....

Digitalwoodshop
04-30-2008, 09:45 PM
I have been cutting some custom patterns today at different depths and settings that Michael at www.carvebuddy.com did for me a few months ago. I am still a beginner in Pattern Making and needed this right the first time.

So I cut some clocks and plaques with this same pattern and tonight I swapped to the 1/8 inch cutting bit to make this plaque into a circle. Three others went fine today....

I am watching it cut and after the first pass 360 back to the area above the Brass Roller I hear the X Drive Hesitate a second when the depth changed... Then watched it cut long on end or 12 O' clock position and short on the 6 O' clock position.... Because it was cutting extra material on the start of the 3rd pass it did the same at the 9 O' clock brass roller position... A slight hesitation.... Then a even Longer cut at 12 o'clock position so I shut it down. I could hear the cutting stress and would rather cut it manually tomorrow than break a bit.

I had blown all the sawdust at bit change plus have a dual dust collection so that was not an issue. I removed the board expecting to see a dimple in the Masking Tape at the position that the Brass Roller had been at when it hesitated..... Nothing.... Clean smooth tape..... No right guide problem.... The Carving looks good, no errors....

I looked at the board position relative to the input and output tables and no problems seen.....

So.... I will cut it again tomorrow after I meet up with my buddy Chisel Me Timbers and look at his machine problem and hopefully Chris will stop by too with some of his goodies he has carved.

I am thinking it was a Software Glitch with that pattern not a mechanical problem for the first time... This is usually a mechanical problem....

Just had to stop..... I am watching the TV PBS Special about the US Navy Carrier....

http://www.pbs.org/weta/carrier/full_episodes.htm