PDA

View Full Version : Spoon and Fork

forqnc
04-23-2008, 12:01 PM
Didn't want to hijack the other threads.

I finally got warm weather and time to carve the Celtic Fork and Spoon patterns I bought from http://www.go3d.us and wanted to share the pictures.
Now I am only a hobbyist at this, and although I have 111 hours on the cut motor, a lot of you guys really are pushing the machine beyond my limits with what you are doing with the machine. Most of my carvings have been signs, so I was sceptical on carving the patterns. I set up the machine and once I saw it go to carve I walked away, thinking if it breaks it breaks oh well.
I tried to continue with something else to occupy my mind, but half way through the carve I heard the machine making noises I had never heard before. Fearing the worst I grabbed a fresh beer and cigarette and walked over........
.....needless to say I was awe struke at what I was seeing, and had to stay until the first side was done. The noises where just because of some of the depths the carving bit was going down. After the first side was done, I took out the piece, quick vacuum and set the machine away again. Being comfortable with the machine running and now knowing the cause of the different noise I was hearing, I continued with my other project.
Wow this is getting long, anyhow to save server space, I got both the Fork and Spoon carved. I didn't get chance to clean them up yet, but these are now going to my Mother-in-law, since my wife wants her set (these where supposed to be it) to be bigger.
I carved this to a length of 12" (original is 9.3") on a 1x4x2 Popular

Sorry this got long, But I am really very impressed with the patterns and the price from http://www.go3d.us

castingman
04-23-2008, 12:08 PM
WOW!! Those are great, mine got thin walled by the heart, those are perfict !

Michael

SilentBob
04-23-2008, 02:41 PM