PDA

View Full Version : A head scratcher

OKCCarver
04-21-2008, 05:29 PM
Well....I've been carving away for about two months or so and haven't had many issues at all, but now I'm up on one that I haven't ran across in the forum. I'll try to explain the best that I can, so here we go...

I went to load a project the other day and when the machine went to measure the board it was moving VERY slow. Meaning that sandpaper belts were CREEPING along. It eventually got up to "normal" speed but took it a second. Then when begining to start the actual carve, the cut motor did the exact same thing. It tooks it's own sweet time to get up and going but it eventually got there before the bit actually touched the wood. Also, during the carve I had it do the edge routing (I was lazy) and the bit actually burned the wood. The bit shows signs of overheating as well. This was on the second of two carvings. The first approx 45 min, the second about an hour. With about 45 minutes rest in between the two, and both finished normally with any other problems. The projects were made of oak. Also, (don't know if this matters) but I'm getting the "please close cover" error. It's somewhat intermitent, but appears the switchs are on thier last leg. I've been getting the check cut motor since about the second week of carving and I'm thinking it's about to give out. Anyway, anyone have any ideas before I call LHR about the cover switches?

Thanks again all!

Dave

Cmdr.Rav
04-21-2008, 06:08 PM
Dave, how cold was your shop when you started? Everything moving slow sounds like being too cold. Remember for the CC to run correctly it must be the optimal conditions. The correct temp., the machine must be clean, your mouth in the right position, the wind blowing 5-10 miles an hour to the south etc. !