PDA

View Full Version : Splitting up a 3-D CAD design for use with Designer

pjfiedler
04-13-2008, 05:27 PM
I would like to split up a 3-D CAD design and then carve the pieces using the Carve Wright tool and then reassemble the pieces to make the entire 3-D object. Is there a software tool or method for assisting with the splitting and importing of the CAD pieces into Designer? Such as a model of a car or an airplane. For example, I would like to make a wood airplane (6 foot wing span) by separately carving the bottom and top halves of the wings. Likewise, to separately carve the left and right halves of the body. Almost as if you were putting together a plastic model. How do I do this with Designer?

OKCCarver
04-13-2008, 09:06 PM
WOW....What a good idea. I really can't help as I'm just learning the ropes myself, but if you get it figured out PLEASE post us some pics of the finished project! ;)

hotpop
04-14-2008, 07:24 AM
jp,

Today there is no conversion of 3d files in to Designer software. I heard recently that LHR might be offering a program in the near future.

I think I know what your asking. If you are considering cutting wing and fuselage profiles your plane would be so heavy it probably wouldn't get off the ground. Maybe if carved in foam then sheeted over. The CW will do an excellent job for your ribs and spars using a 2d CAD program.

Jeff_Birt
04-14-2008, 08:24 AM
I would like to split up a 3-D CAD design and then carve the pieces using the Carve Wright

This is entirely doable, if you use the correct software.

First: The CW's patterns are basically heightmaps, so you need a program that can take a solid model and output heightmaps. A forum member has recently introduce 'CarvePic' which will convert several 3d formats to heightmaps, many 3d modeling packages will also output heightmaps.