PDA

View Full Version : Nameplates on the CW

Lin
03-29-2008, 01:12 PM
I have been doing scrolled desk nameplates for several years and wanted to try them out on the CW. I cut a deal with someone that wanted a scrolled one to carved him one 1/2 my normal charge to advertise for me and I made two fairly simple ones for x-mas gifts for my two immedidate bosses.
They were needless to say my bosses were..."impressed". Brownie points for me...lol

Since x-mas I have gotten three orders for these nameplates carved from plain pine and stained. Here are pics of the two I have completed. The "Wizard" one is two sided and the wizard itself is the hair salons logo that I made a pattern from her business card. I wanted to do the lettering on the piece in gold but the customer wanted only the wizard painted...A very big thank-you to Kelly and Ed for helping me out with the sissor and comb patterns for this piece...they are both real sweethearts.
The "Shirley" nameplate is just one sided and very basic. Just a simple "Kitty" pattern and basic raster lettering gone over with a leafing pen just proir to the last coat of lacquer.
So far I have been using only red chestnut stain on these nameplates....looks somewhat like cherry to the folks and they seem to like it. The bases were also carved on the CW.
The nameplates are about 14" long and the Wizard is 5" tall and Shirley is 4" tall without the base. Just another way of getting the personal touch with the CW.
Lin

mtylerfl
03-29-2008, 01:45 PM
Beautiful work, Lin!

chips
03-29-2008, 03:25 PM
Those look Awesome Lin.....good work !!!

peter_l
03-29-2008, 05:25 PM
These look great. If you do not mind me asking, what are you charging for name plates like these?

I have been making some similiar (not quite as nice) for gifts, and now more people want me to make them and charge. Have no idea where to start for cost, other than the cost of the wood.

Thanks

Pete

Lin
03-29-2008, 06:07 PM