PDA

View Full Version : 1 Year Old- Happy with my machine!

Router-Jim
03-07-2008, 08:19 AM
Yes my machine will be 1 year old this weekend and I just thought I'd post how happy I am with it. I have been a hobbiest woodworker for over 40 years, over the years I have slowly developed a completely equiped shop.

I appreciate every tool in my shop and most tools have made woodworking easier and more accurate, but none have added a new dimension to my woodworking like the CompuCarve. No other machine has brought a consistant "Wow" factor to each project either.

At 52 years old, I sometimes felt that new technology was passing me by. The CompuCarve has forced me to get back on the information super highway. It's not been easy, but thanks to the forum and a lot of reading and experimenting, I now am able to design fairly complicated projects, make accurate jigs for other woodworking projects, learned how to upload pictures, take screen shots, upload and down load files, and post pictures on the forum. No other machine in the shop has forced me to do some homework and grow as a person and I appreciate that.

Over the past year I have had one problem - a torn drive belt. That problem was caused by my error. It was early in my use of the machine and I tried to carve a board that had voids on the back side. One of the defects cause the o-ring to roll off and ripped the drive belt. Thanks to the forum I was able to easily replace the belt.

I didn't mean for this to get so long, but with new forum members joining everyday I thought they may want to read something positive. I hope each of you have as much fun and appreciation for your machine as I have.

I welcome other longer term users to post their stories.

Jim

auriclux
03-07-2008, 08:36 AM
Jim,

It is great to hear positive comments, on anything really. It fights against our nature to speak up only with gripes.

It's especially good in cases like mine where the money is committed, but the machine hasn't arrived yet.