PDA

View Full Version : Curious if I can do these projects with a CarveWright

carvingoutaniche
02-26-2008, 10:09 PM
Howdy gang,

I'm just learning about the CarveWright machine. Is it possible to use this machine to make something like ceiling fan blades? Meaning, could I take a blank piece of wood and have the machine cut the shape of the ceiling fan blade as well as the detailed carvings on the blade itself? Or would I have to cut the blade to the shape I wanted first, then just let the CarveWright do the image carving on the blade that way?

Also curious if anyone uses it to make things like drink coasters. Please pardon the rudimentary questions; I'm an admitted noob on this stuff. :oops:

TIMCOSBY
02-26-2008, 10:22 PM
juyst an amazing machine. download the trial software and play with it.

Router-Jim
02-26-2008, 10:26 PM
First off welcome to the forum.

Your machine should have no problem carving and cutting out ceiling fan blades. Coasters and trivets are easy to make as well as being a good learning experience for using the Designer program. They also don't waste much wood. LOL

Go to the gallery forum and go to the second search area. The one that says "Search this forum" Search for coaster and then again for trivets and there should be quite a few to look at. You will find some actual patterns posted in the pattern sharing department that you can download and use.

Hope that helps.

Jim

oldjoe
02-27-2008, 06:54 AM
Wow another neat idea this machine will do this in your sleep. And it will drill the mounting holes also. But you will need to build a sled because fan blades are only 1/4" thick and the machine will only go down to 1/2".

The "DH"
02-27-2008, 06:58 AM
Welcome, what a neat idea (another one that I need to keep my from wife) and YES you can do it with a good design and sled as mentioned, should you do it make sure you post some pics!!!
Happy Carving

ChrisAlb
02-27-2008, 07:59 AM