PDA

View Full Version : Assistance with making a rabbet

andes
01-19-2008, 05:23 PM
Hello All,

I am working on a project, just started. Its in my head and I am trying to create as I go along; since I am new to CW. I am working on the first parts to my molding, and need to create rabbets on the back of each opening. I'm not quite sure if I did it correctly, could some take a look and advise me.

Thanks

Andes

Aaron B
01-19-2008, 05:33 PM
On the back side are you wanting those walls to be there? It looks more like a grove than a rabbet since those wall are left. Wasn't sure if that is what you wanted.

andes
01-19-2008, 05:40 PM
Aaron,

No, I was just trying to create rabbets, such as the concept with a picture frame. I will be putting something in the opening and want to keep the back level. The other thing I need to know is once I create all the pieces, can I combine them in the design software to make one piece? Do you know how that is done, thats if it can be done.

Thanks

Aaron B
01-19-2008, 05:45 PM
For the rabbets, you will to make another rectangle just inside of the one you have and select the 1/8" straight bit again. There will be some overlapping of the carves but that will be ok and then you wont have that wall that is there.

ChrisAlb
01-19-2008, 05:51 PM
Hello All,

I am working on a project, just started. Its in my head and I am trying to create as I go along; since I am new to CW. I am working on the first parts to my molding, and need to create rabbets on the back of each opening. I'm not quite sure if I did it correctly, could some take a look and advise me.

Thanks

Andes

Hi Andes,