PDA

View Full Version : SolidWorks STL conversion using ZBrush, Carrara, etc

dandrea
01-17-2008, 09:56 PM
I've been using CNC technology for a few years at work so when I found out about the CW system I was so impressed that I'm now an avid user of the machine.

I've been creating pieces in Designer and PS but I need to take some of my SolidWorks files and get them running on the machine. Specifically I've been working on some wooden fly reels in SW that I would really like to get going on the CW. Done lots of reading of other posts and research, but I can't get my files (STLs or IGES) to convert to height maps so I can use them in the CW machine.

Is there anyone who would like to pass along a tip or trick of how to do this? I've tried both Carrara and ZBrush but I can't quite get it to work. Any thoughts?

If anyone is interested, I'll post the final pattern files if I ever get them into Designer. :D

Thanks,

Dan

dougmsbbs
01-17-2008, 10:09 PM
Just a little while longer...
JLitz is taking a first look at some software I wrote that will do what you want. If he doesn't break it too bad, I hope to get it out there soon.
Meanwhile, if you want to try one of your files out, attach it to an email and send it to dougmsbbs@hotmail.com and I'll see if the software reads them correctly.

deemon328
01-18-2008, 06:44 AM
Do either of those packages allow you to render to a Z-order or heightmap? If you can get to that stage, you could import into photoshop then convert to a PNG for import into Designer. Convoluted, but doable. That's the only way I know of, but I'm sure there are others.

TerryT
01-18-2008, 07:42 AM
Do a search of the forum for "image analyzer". Someone posted a link to this free download. Open your STL's, save the height png and load it into Designer. I have used it and it works well.

liquidguitars
01-18-2008, 11:36 AM
You can send me one of your STL files and I can give it a try.