PDA

View Full Version : trouble setting correct cutting depth...

ATcarver
01-16-2008, 03:16 PM
sorry if this has been posted before, but i'm relatively new to the carvewright and woodworking in general.

i've made and carved quite a few designs already, but i'm having trouble getting my designs to actually cut through my piece of wood. when using a 3/4" thick piece of wood, i enter 3/4" depth for my cutting line. however, when my project actually is carved, it's not deep enough.

any ideas on what i'm doing wrong?

Dan-Woodman
01-16-2008, 04:12 PM
Welcome
If your talking about cutting out your carving completly from the board , try --cut path--

ATcarver
01-16-2008, 04:15 PM
sorry, i meant cut path.

Dan-Woodman
01-16-2008, 04:27 PM
When you choose cut path from the menu, you don't set a depth for it .
The machine measures the board thickness and cuts through the board based on those measurements. After choosing cut path you can also flip cut to cut inside the line or outside the line.

ATcarver
01-16-2008, 04:33 PM
i guess that's my issue. it never seems to cut all the way through. i guess i'm not understanding what you mean by flip cut.

Dan-Woodman
01-16-2008, 04:47 PM
OK, lets start at the beginning .
If you draw a rectangle on your board in designer, then at the top on the menu bar is a board with a handsaw sticking out of it . This is cut path . When you click on it there is a selection comes up that you can pick flip cut, which flips your through cut from inside the line or outside the line.
You must have a closed loop in order to use flip cut . Thats why I'm saying to use the rectangle to see what I'm referring to .

kwyjibo67
01-16-2008, 10:41 PM